Rock Hall’s Class Of 2018

Dire Straits, Bon Jovi, The Cars and Moody Blues get the nod

By Gary Graff
December 13, 2017

A collection of guitar heroes — Dire Straits’ Mark Knopfler, former Bon Jovi axeman Richie Sambora, Elliot Easton and Ric Ocasek of the Cars and Justin Hayward of the Moody Blues — are headed into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Those four bands, along with the late vocalist Nina Simone and early influence Sister Rosetta Tharpe, will be inducted into the Rock Hall on April 14 during a ceremony in Cleveland, where the Rock Hall’s physical museum is located. HBO will film the event for subsequent broadcast.

The inductees were chosen by an international voting body of more than 1,000 — including artists and current living Rock Hall inductees — while a fan vote, won by Bon Jovi, created one ballot that was counted among the rest. Dire Straits, the Moody Blues and Simone were on the ballot for the first time this year, while the Cars and Bon Jovi were each making their second appearance.

A week of activities surrounding the ceremony, including the unveiling of an exhibit dedicated to the inductees, that will be announced in the new year. Tickets for Rock Hall members and donors go on sale December 31, with a public sale announced in January. More details and updates will be available at