Rock Hall Announces 2018 Nominees

Let the grousing begin…

By Gary Graff
October 5, 2017

Nine first-time nominees — including Rage Against The Machine, Radiohead, Dire Straits and the long-awaited Moody Blues — are on the ballot for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s class of 2018.

A total of 19 acts are included on the list, including other first-time nominees Eurythmics, Kate Bush, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe, along with returnees Bon Jovi, the Cars, the J. Geils Band, the MC5, the Meters, Link Wray, the Zombies, Depeche Mode, LL Cool J and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

More than 900 artists, journalists, historians and other members of the music industry will vote for the inductees, while a public vote to create a single “fans’ ballot” begins today (Oct. 5) at, with voting running through Dec. 5. The inductees will be announced later that month.

The 2018 induction ceremony takes place April 14 at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland and will be filmed by HBO for subsequent broadcast. More details about the ceremony will be announced later.