Aerosmith guitarist to release new solo album in January

By Gary Graff
November 20, 2017

Joe Perry is apparently done waiting for the next Aerosmith album to happen. The guitarist announced a Jan. 19 release date for Sweetzerland Manifesto, his first new solo album in eight years.

The set will feature guest appearances by Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander on “Aye Aye Aye,” which he co-wrote, the New York Dolls’ David Johansen, British singer Terry Reid, who was Jimmy Page’s first choice to front Led Zeppelin, the Who’s Zak Starkey and Johnny Depp, Perry’s partner in Hollywood Vampires, who plays drums on a cover of Barry McGuire’s 1965 protest song “Eve Of Destruction.”

Perry’s sons Tony and Roman, meanwhile, join their father for the instrumental “Spanish Sushi.” In a statement, Perry says that: “It’s going to be interesting to see what songs people gravitate to, because there’s such a wide variety of tunes.”

Perry co-produced the album with longtime Aerosmith aide-de-camps Jack Douglas and Bruce Witkin and recorded it at Studio 1480 in Los Angeles. It’s the follow-up to his 2009 release Have Guitar, Will Travel and his 2014 Joe Perry’s Merry Christmas EP.

The full Sweetzerland Manifesto track list includes:

Rumble In The Jungle (instrumental)
I’ll Do Happiness (featuring Terry Reid)
Aye, Aye, Aye (featuring Robin Zander)
I Wanna Roll (featuring David Johansen)
Sick & Tired (featuring Terry Reid)
Haberdasher Blues (featuring David Johansen)
Spanish Sushi (instrumental)
Eve Of Destruction (featuring Joe Perry)
I’m Going Crazy (featuring David Johansen)
Won’t Let Me Go (featuring Terry Reid)